Top

Inspiration in Isolation

$25

Out of stock

already purchased your ticket? check your email for further instructions on how to access the event.

If you are using the student discount code to secure one of our limited student tickets, please send your course schedule to online@austinfilmfestival.com.

May 16th, 2020 • 1:00 -5:30 PM CST/ 11:00 AM – 3:30 PM PST/ 2:00 – 6:30 PM EST

Join Austin Film Festival and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Educational Initiatives on Saturday, May 16th from the comfort of your home for an afternoon full of seasoned advice from industry professionals– from discussions on the current state of the industry to steps you can take right now to further your craft and jump-start your career. Join friends old and new for a celebration of story and a last-minute dose of inspiration before AFF’s final screenplay deadline on June 1st!

 

Panel #1 | What to Write Right Now? 11:15 AM PST/ 1:15 PM CST/ 2:15 PM EST

Deniese Davis (Supervising Producer Insecure, Producer A Black Lady Sketch Show)

Adam Kolbrenner (Literary Manager, Lit Entertainment Group)

Roy Lee (Producer, Vertigo Entertainment)

Join industry insiders for a discussion on the current changes happening in the entertainment industry. Production has halted, yet content consumption is at an all-time high. And the good news is– writers can still write. Learn more about how managers and executives are moving forward with development and what steps writers can take now to improve their craft and further their careers.

 

Panel #2 | Creative Pursuits in a Pandemic 12:45 PM PST/ 2:45 PM CST/ 3:45 PM EST

Pamela Ribon (writer MoanaRalph Breaks The Internet)

Nicholas Kazan (writer Reversal of FortuneFallen)

The pursuit of creativity is never easy – especially during a pandemic. Join us for a conversation with veteran screenwriters on finding inspiration, rolling with the punches, and balancing your writing time amongst daily conflicts like working from home, taking care of kids, or simply staring into space. No matter your schedule, it’s important to stay motivated.

 

Panel #3 | A Conversation with Christopher McQuarrie 2:15 PM PST/ 4:15 PM CST/ 5:15 PM EST

Join Academy Award-winning screenwriter Christopher McQuarrie for a conversation on his writing and directing career. McQuarrie wrote and directed Mission: Impossible – Fallout, Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation, Jack Reacher, and The Way of the Gun. His writing credits include Edge of Tomorrow, Top Gun: Maverick, and The Usual Suspects. The Usual Suspects garnered McQuarrie an Academy Award and the BAFTA for Best Original Screenplay, as well as the Edgar Allan Poe and Independent Spirit Awards. It has since been named one of the 100 greatest screenplays of all time by The Writers Guild of America.

 

Read full bios of panelists.

Back to Store

Description

already purchased your ticket? check your email for further instructions on how to access the event.

If you are using the student discount code to secure one of our limited student tickets, please send your course schedule to online@austinfilmfestival.com.

May 16th, 2020 • 1:00 -5:30 PM CST/ 11:00 AM – 3:30 PM PST/ 2:00 – 6:30 PM EST

Join Austin Film Festival and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Educational Initiatives on Saturday, May 16th from the comfort of your home for an afternoon full of seasoned advice from industry professionals– from discussions on the current state of the industry to steps you can take right now to further your craft and jump-start your career. Join friends old and new for a celebration of story and a last-minute dose of inspiration before AFF’s final screenplay deadline on June 1st!

 

Panel #1 | What to Write Right Now? 11:15 AM PST/ 1:15 PM CST/ 2:15 PM EST

Deniese Davis (Supervising Producer Insecure, Producer A Black Lady Sketch Show)

Adam Kolbrenner (Literary Manager, Lit Entertainment Group)

Roy Lee (Producer, Vertigo Entertainment)

Join industry insiders for a discussion on the current changes happening in the entertainment industry. Production has halted, yet content consumption is at an all-time high. And the good news is– writers can still write. Learn more about how managers and executives are moving forward with development and what steps writers can take now to improve their craft and further their careers.

 

Panel #2 | Creative Pursuits in a Pandemic 12:45 PM PST/ 2:45 PM CST/ 3:45 PM EST

Pamela Ribon (writer MoanaRalph Breaks The Internet)

Nicholas Kazan (writer Reversal of FortuneFallen)

The pursuit of creativity is never easy – especially during a pandemic. Join us for a conversation with veteran screenwriters on finding inspiration, rolling with the punches, and balancing your writing time amongst daily conflicts like working from home, taking care of kids, or simply staring into space. No matter your schedule, it’s important to stay motivated.

 

Panel #3 | A Conversation with Christopher McQuarrie 2:15 PM PST/ 4:15 PM CST/ 5:15 PM EST

Join Academy Award-winning screenwriter Christopher McQuarrie for a conversation on his writing and directing career. McQuarrie wrote and directed Mission: Impossible – Fallout, Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation, Jack Reacher, and The Way of the Gun. His writing credits include Edge of Tomorrow, Top Gun: Maverick, and The Usual Suspects. The Usual Suspects garnered McQuarrie an Academy Award and the BAFTA for Best Original Screenplay, as well as the Edgar Allan Poe and Independent Spirit Awards. It has since been named one of the 100 greatest screenplays of all time by The Writers Guild of America.

 

Read full bios of panelists.