Stay up-to-date with AFF announcements, news from our panelists and filmmakers, film industry updates, and more.
News > 2012 Screenplay, Teleplay, and Film Competition Winners

2012 Screenplay, Teleplay, and Film Competition Winners

Announcing Austin Film Festival’s 2012 Screenplay, Teleplay, and Film Competition Winners!

Film Competition Winners

Young Filmmakers – CRUMBS, Director: Nicco Vasquez, Writer: Keith Limon

Documentary Short – SEE THE DIRT, Directors: Chelsea Hernandez, Erik Mauck

Documentary Feature – INFORMANT, Director: Jamie Meltzer

Animated Short – HEAD OVER HEELS, Writer/Director: Timothy Reckart

Narrative Student Short – HATCH, Writer/Director: Christoph Kuschnig, Writer: Karl Goldblat

Narrative Short – ASAD, Writer/Director: Bryan Buckley

Narrative Feature – SPARROWS DANCE, Writer/Director: Noah Buschel


Screenplay/Teleplay Competition Winners

Sitcom Spec – Modern Family: “Earthquake Party”, Writer: Abi Wurdeman & Phil Wurdeman

One Hour Spec – Dexter: “The Second Coming”, Writer: David Radcliff

Sitcom Pilot – Katie and Becca: “Grow Up”, Writer: Leila Cohan-Miccio

One-Hour Pilot – Horizon, Writer: B.D. Flory

Comedy Screenplay – The P.A.N.D.A. War, Writer: Daniel Shea

Drama Screenplay presented by Writer’s Guild of America, East – Clouds of Sorrow, Writer: Jack Davidson

Enderby Entertainment Award – The Break-Up Nurse, Writer: Adelline Colangelo

Dark Hero Studios Sci-Fi Award – The Domain, by Michael Raymond


Congratulations to these incredibly talented winners for their outstanding work.  This year we received a record number of submissions in all categories and were blown away by the level of talent and hard work reflected.  We look forward to getting submissions for next year!